Sign Up Login Search

Tutor Profile

adrinatse (Female, 27 y/o)

Auckland City

Name: [member only]
Email: [member only]
Phone: [member only]
Mobile: [member only]

Subjects/Rates

Biology $50.00 /hr
Chemistry $50.00 /hr
Hi! My name is Adrina. I am originally from Hong Kong and I am a native Cantonese speaker. I have been a Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics and English Tutor (2016-2020) and I have experience with the NCEA curriculum as well.

As a tutor, I believe there is no one-size-fits-all approach that will work for each student. It is important to observe the students and ask them the right questions to see if they understand what has been said and whether the methods that I am using are working for them. I can always adjust the methods to make things work for them. One of the key differences between tutoring students individually and in a group setting is that there is an opportunity to listen to the student, identify their strengths and weaknesses and come up with strategies that will actually work for the student when I am working with them one-to-one. In my opinion, it is also important that the tutor is able to establish an instant connection with students and to maintain that relationship with the student over a period of time. I believe I am good at that. I often prepare additional material (e.g. reference books and practice exercises) so that it is easier to explain the content to the student.

Qualifications

I hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in Academic English Studies, Linguistics and Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) (2020) from the University of Auckland. I am a three-time recipient of First in Course Awards and I have been mentioned on the Dean's Honours List.

Before I came to Auckland, I completed four years of a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (MBBS) degree at The University of Hong Kong. Throughout my studies, I maintained a strong academic performance. I am a four-time recipient of HKU Foundation Scholarships for Outstanding Students, two-time recipient of Wong Ching Yee Scholarships for Medical Students and recipient of Talent Development Scholarships awarded by The Government of Hong Kong.

Experiences

I have been a private tutor, both in Hong Kong and in Auckland (2016-2020). I have tutored many subjects including Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics and English and at various levels. I have tutoring experience with adults as well. I have experience with the NCEA Chemistry and Biology curriculums. I have also worked as a learning support assistant so I have experience with special needs such as autism spectrum disorder and ADHD.

FindATutor Copyright ©l 2005 - 2022 FindATutor.co.nz. All Rights Reserved

Are you looking for a private tutor? At Find a Tutor, we have a variety of private tutors available. Math tutors, english tutors (IELTS, ESL, Business English, General English), music tutors, art tutors. Or are you a Tutor wanting to recruit students? You have the choice of offering private 1 to 1 or small group tutoring. You have come to the right place, Find a Tutor gives you all that.