Tutor Search

Member Profile

Contact details are only available for FindATutor members. It is FREE to become a FindATutor member. Click here to register as a member now!

alexandrabowdon (Female, 26 y/o)

Wellington City
Name: [member only]
Email address: [member only]
Phone: [member only]
Mobile: [member only]


English $30.00 /hr
I am a fully qualified teacher of English Language and English Literature from the United Kingdom.

English, as a subject, is a huge passion of mine. English enables us to acquire vocabulary, understand texts as well as people, communicate articulately and express ourselves as individuals. English empowers us and allows us to empathise with people: this is why I teach. As a teacher of English, I build upon my student’s current understandings of the world and how they can express themselves by expanding their vocabulary and reading widely. I encourage students to seek knowledge autonomously and nurture their interpretations of texts and the themes within it.


Society of Education & Training - Qualified Teacher Learning & Skills (QTLS).
Northumbria University - PGCE Post-compulsory Education & Training with Commendation.
Northumbria University - BA (Hons) English Literature


My teaching and tutoring experience spans over 4 years, having taught English programmes of study to students aged between 11-18.
I have successfully taught a range of English Language content including: spelling, grammar, punctuation, comprehension, language, structure and writing.
I have successfully taught a range of English Literature content including: Shakespeare, poetry (love and relationships, war and conflict), plays, novels and novellas.

I have abundant experience in classroom teaching, tutoring, supervising and guiding Accelerated Reading programmes and providing one-to-one tuition. I was responsible for giving praise and feedback, setting goals, standardising, grading student work, providing differentiated learning techniques and producing progress reports. Before my paid teaching work, I also volunteered at Bookhappy Ltd and Beanstalk, which aimed to foster a love for reading.


Reading is a great passion of mine, as I love to discover and explore the alternate worlds that we find in books.
I love to ski and have been lucky enough to ski numerous times in the French Alps.
Travelling the world and experiencing new cultures is a huge interest of mine - it is what brought me to New Zealand today!

Search Results

Your search result for Tutors in Wellington City area

previous Display 1 to 10 of 79 next

helen456 (Female, 19 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$20.00 /hr
Statistics$20.00 /hr

Considerable tutoring experience in Mathematics. I achieved an Excellence endorsement in NCEA Levels 2 and 3 and was awarded the Carlien Calvert Prize...

Muhammad_shakir (Male, 41 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$25.00 /hr
Physics$25.00 /hr

My Profile details are as : -A Qulaified and experienced tutor for All Levels ,NCEA (Especially),Electrical Engineering subjects - Teaching approac...

Angelina (Female, 32 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$30.00 /hr
Physics$35.00 /hr

Currently getting to know Wellington and this will be my last stop before starting my PhD overseas on July 2017.

E_Bradley (Female, 28 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$25.00 /hr
Science$25.00 /hr

Hi, Over three years teaching private students maths (high school level), music (beginners), biology and chemistry to all levels (not full-time). J...

Inescecilia (hidden, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City

¡Hola! Thinking of having a few Spanish lessons before heading to South America? No hay problema! You can have one-on-one lessons with me either o...

novyl (Female, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$30.00 /hr
Science$30.00 /hr

Fun and approachable. I inspire and motivate! :D Let's do some math!

AidanHoulihan (Male, 25 y/o)

Wellington City
Computer$30.00 /hr

I've worked in industry for the last 4.5 years. Before that I had experience tutoring at the University level at Massey University in Palmerston North...

giuse99 (Male, 19 y/o)

Wellington City
Italian$17.00 /hr
German$17.00 /hr

Hey there! My name is Giuseppe. I am a 19-year old backpacer from Germany. After graduating from high school and receiving my German version of the N...

elisabethb (Female, 19 y/o)

Wellington City
French$19.00 /hr

I am a French young adult who fell in love with New Zealand and moved to Wellington last year. I value my culture and my language and I enjoy helping ...

loren.kennedy (Female, 41 y/o)

Wellington City
English$40.00 /hr

I am a qualified and registered primary school teacher with 5 years teaching experience in the classroom, teaching in years 1-7. I can help your ch...

previous Display 1 to 10 of 79 next