Member Profile

Contact details are only available for FindATutor members. It is FREE to become a FindATutor member. Click here to register as a member now!

JessicaT (Female, hidden)

Location:
Auckland City
Name: [member only]
Email address: [member only]
Phone: [member only]
Mobile: [member only]
Rating:

Subjects/Rates

English $45.00 /hr
Hi there!

I am an experienced tutor of English, History, Media Studies, Art History, Classical Studies, Drama, Art (design and painting), and Science (up to, and including, year 11).
I believe a good tutor must:
- help their students gain confidence and self-belief.
- teach effective study skills.
- help the student to define their goals and make a plan to achieve them.
- be encouraging, patient, and supportive at all times.
- make tutoring time a safe place where they feel comfortable to ask questions, make suggestions, and get things wrong without fear of judgement or ridicule.

These precepts are what I commit to with every student. I look forward to meeting you and to helping you achieve your goals.

Qualifications

University of Auckland BA in History and English (double major)
University of Auckland Honours in History with First Class
University of Auckland Masters of History with First Class
University of Auckland Masters of Creative Writing.

Experiences

I have tutored for the past six years students from year seven to thirteen in both NCEA and Cambridge. I specialise in tutoring students with learning disabilities such as dyslexia, autism spectrum disorder, and ADHD but have experience working with students without any particular learning issues and who simply want to improve their writing and grades.

About

I am kind, patient, and completely dedicated to my students.
In my spare time I am a writer and illustrator of books for children, and I love to read and run around with my dog Frankie at the beach.
I love what I get to do as a tutor: help children of all ages to enjoy their learning. I myself struggled in school with bullying and, as a result, low self-esteem. My teachers were critical and often only lowered my understanding of what I could achieve. I tutor because I want to be the encouraging voice that I so desperately wanted and needed when I was in school. If given the opportunity to be a part of Tutoring for Excellence, I am fully committed to providing the best education support that I possibly can. To further my capacity to help children with special needs, I am currently completing a course in Learning Development and Behavioural Disorders. This is increasing my understanding of the different needs of child with a range of learning difficulties and helping me to develop new ways of tutoring, better suited to their challenges.
Most of all, I want to help students find learning fun, to set goals and to see themselves achieve and even surpass them. I strongly believe that every student is capable of doing great things- whether in school or beyond- and I want to help them see that potential in themselves, to believe in it, and to know that they can do whatever they set their minds to.

Search Results

Your search result for Tutors in Auckland City area (page 2)

previous Display 11 to 20 of 472 next

TeacherAnne (Female, 27 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Auckland City
English$50.00 /hr

Need to improve your English for school, work or everyday life for a good price? Do you or someone you know want to speak, listen, write and read Engl...

clin0425 (Male, 33 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Auckland City
Economics$40.00 /hr

Hi guys, my name is Jeff. I had finished my study and is now back to my home country, thus I will only be able to "assist" (e.g. write it for you)...

carollin (Female, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Auckland City
Mandarin$35.00 /hr

I moved to Taipei, Taiwan in 2018. Only ONLINE Tutoring (SKYPE or others) available now. :) * I am not a Premium member in this site, so I CAN NOT v...

genevievedon (hidden, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Auckland City
English$28.00 /hr
Others$28.00 /hr

I specialise in providing academic editing and proofreading services to secondary and tertiary students. I am able to edit your essay or thesis using ...

kli1479 (Male, 18 y/o)

Auckland City
English$30.00 /hr

I'm a first-year University of Auckland student studying a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Arts conjoint. I'm passionate about passing on my know...

Daisy_Chaparro (Female, 36 y/o)

Auckland City
Spanish$20.00 /hr

I’m from Colombia, my first language is Spanish. I am friendly.

Winnie (Female, 27 y/o)

Auckland City
Maths$45.00 /hr

Hi I'm Winnie from China,now I'm a PhD student in the faculty of Science, the University of Auckland. Hope we could find the beauty of science.

lisado (Female, hidden)

Auckland City
English$50.00 /hr
Science$50.00 /hr

Hi there, I am currently working as a registered nurse at Auckland City Hospital, I have completed my bachelor of science in nursing and postgradu...

guidotombo (Male, hidden)

Auckland City
Spanish$25.00 /hr

I am a Spanish native speaker from Argentina. Living in New Zealand for almost 2 years. Friendly and enthusiastic worker. I am flexible so we can work...

ERobinson (Female, hidden)

Auckland City
English$50.00 /hr

I’m a registered secondary teacher with over 12 years experience. I have taught English, Music, Art History, History and Classical Studies.

previous Display 11 to 20 of 472 next