Member Profile

Contact details are only available for FindATutor members. It is FREE to become a FindATutor member. Click here to register as a member now!

james_banwell (Male, 31 y/o)

Location:
Wellington City
Name: [member only]
Email address: [member only]
Phone: [member only]
Mobile: [member only]
Rating:

Subjects/Rates

History $35.00 /hr
Philosophy $35.00 /hr
I’m a PhD student in philosophy at the University of New South Wales in Sydney. I submitted my dissertation in February and it’s currently under examination. For my bachelors I majored in philosophy and sociology at the Australian National University, with first class honours in philosophy. I'm passionate about philosophy and love sharing that passion with my students!

I approach one-on-one tutoring the same way that I'd tutor a course at university. If you send me the course material in advance I'll read through it so that when we meet I can work through it with you and help you to understand it. The biggest difference with one-on-one tutoring is that we can focus on the areas that interest you most, or where you need the most help.

I can also help you prepare for assessment, and with essay writing more generally. I've graded essays while tutoring so I know what markers will be looking for. I can read drafts and provide advice on the argument, composition and writing. I'm also very happy to offer feedback on larger projects such as honours or master's theses. While I specialise in philosophy I can help you improve your writing and research skills in any area in the humanities and social sciences.

Qualifications

PhD candidate in philosophy at the University of New South Wales. Thesis currently under examination.

Bachelor of Arts at the Australian National University (philosophy and sociology major) with first class Honours in philosophy

Experiences

I tutored philosophy at UNSW and the University of Tasmania's Sydney campuses for three years while writing my doctorate. I received very positive feedback from my students in my teaching evaluations, with 90% satisfied with the quality of my teaching. This is how some of my previous students described my teaching:

"James was friendly, approachable and encouraged student participation in classes"

"James was a great tutor, his activities were helpful and fun, allowing us to fully grasp each weeks content. Not only that, but when
someone asked James for help he tried his best to explain or simplify the concept or idea"

"The best tutor I've had at uni in the three years I've been here."

"he was knowledgeable, interesting, engaging and related the material to our lives well"

I also have experience teaching younger students as I taught philosophy to years 7 and 8 at Kincoppal-Rose Bay School.

Search Results

Your search result for Tutors in Wellington City area

previous Display 1 to 10 of 94 next

elisabethb (Female, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
French$22.00 /hr

I am French tutor and university student living in Wellington. I lived in France most of my life but have now settled in New Zealand, where I am pursu...

Muhammad_shakir (Male, 42 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$25.00 /hr
Physics$25.00 /hr

My Profile details are as : -A Qulaified and experienced tutor for All Levels ,NCEA (Especially),Electrical Engineering subjects - Teaching approac...

Angelina (Female, 33 y/o)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$30.00 /hr
Physics$35.00 /hr

Currently getting to know Wellington and this will be my last stop before starting my PhD overseas on July 2017.

novyl (Female, hidden)

5 (1 reviews)
Wellington City
Maths$30.00 /hr
Science$30.00 /hr

Fun and approachable. I inspire and motivate! :D Let's do some math!

Scibio (Female, 49 y/o)

Wellington City
Biology$50.00 /hr

Fully NZ registered secondary teacher - NCEA Biology and Science subject expert. Also very knowledgeable in teaching writing skills for NCEA.

LisaSims123 (Female, 32 y/o)

Wellington City
Art/Craft$40.00 /hr

Hi! I'm Lisa, from the UK and I'm passionate about the arts and I'm enthusiastic in my teaching. At University I studied Fine Arts which involved lear...

niccox (Male, 22 y/o)

Wellington City
Maths$55.00 /hr

I am a qualified secondary school maths teacher. My aim is to put myself in my students' shoes so I can work out what it is exactly the the student is...

BestTutor (Male, 37 y/o)

Wellington City
Maths$25.00 /hr
Science$25.00 /hr
Computer$25.00 /hr
Chemistry$25.00 /hr
Physics$25.00 /hr

Best and Only Tutor you will every NEED. Success and grade guaranteed or MONEY BACK* I speak multiple languages so I can talk in English. Hindi, Chi...

Mana (Female, 31 y/o)

Wellington City

Kia ora! My name is Mana, from Japan and currently living Wellington. I am super optimistic, cheerful and open-minded person. I’ll be happy to he...

Laurieking101 (Male, 28 y/o)

Wellington City
Spanish$30.00 /hr
Geography$30.00 /hr

*PLEASE NOTE: due to the Covid-19 pandemic, all my lessons will be conducted online for the foreseeable future* I am fascinated by how people behav...

previous Display 1 to 10 of 94 next