Sign Up Login Search

Tutor Profile

smorganlam (Male, 20 y/o)

Auckland City

Name: [member only]
Email: [member only]
Mobile: [member only]

Subjects/Rates

Chemistry $50.00 /hr
Physics $50.00 /hr
My approach to tutoring is to first recognize the level of understanding the student has in that subject. By building on his/her current knowledge, I would secure their basics so that they have a strong foundation.
Following that, I would teach and explain the content of the subject in detail to the student, making sure that he/she understands them thoroughly.
I would take their understanding further by providing example questions and answers, so the student can gain an understanding on the best method to approach a problem in the exam.
I would also come back to content that I have covered in previous lessons to ensure the student has developed a long-term memory on the preceding topics.
I also take into consideration the mindset of the student, and will try my best to make the lessons interesting to them. I intend to keep in contact with him/her, so that they can always ask me questions when they come across one.

Qualifications

I was selected as the only year 11 student at AGS to enter the Chemistry Olympiad in 2019, which I passed the entrance exam. In 2021, I placed 19th nationwide in the Chemistry Olympiad Camp exam.

During my study at AGS, I managed to stay in A stream throughout all years.
In 2019, I studied English, AS Mathematics, Triple Science, Latin, and Classical Studies. I came 5th place overall in the year, along with achieving 1st place in Classical Studies and 2nd place in Triple Science.

In 2020, I studied the subjects English, A2 Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. I came 1st place in Biology and Chemistry, and placed 2nd in the year for the mock exams. I received the Delamare Prize for Biology this year during prizegiving. I also passed the Biology Olympiad entrance exam. In my CIE external exams, I came top in the school with an aggregate of 464/500.

I have finished secondary education at Auckland Grammar School with the offer of the Academic Excellence Scholarship from the University of Otago in 2021. In my 5 years there, I have been presented with multiple awards for Top in Class, and was in the Top 3% of my year level.

Experiences

I have tutored many students ranging from year 7 to year 11, including students from Auckland Grammar and in Kings College. The students displayed excellent understanding from my explanation of the subjects, and proceeded to achieve great results in their exams.
I am involved with debating at school, so I am confident in my ability to convey ideas and concepts in a manner that is easy to understand.

About

I was born in Auckland and spent several years going to school in China, which resulted in my ability to speak in fluent Mandarin, Cantonese, and English. I went to Auckland Normal Intermediate school, before studying at Auckland Grammar School now.

I have a passion for the sciences, especially chemistry, along with mathematics and classical studies.
Outside of school, I spend my time playing the piano and the cello, and I also enjoy playing football with friends.
I enjoy reading books in my spare time, and I also love listening to music.

FindATutor Copyright ©l 2005 - 2024 FindATutor.co.nz. All Rights Reserved

Are you looking for a private tutor? At Find a Tutor, we have a variety of private tutors available. Math tutors, english tutors (IELTS, ESL, Business English, General English), music tutors, art tutors. Or are you a Tutor wanting to recruit students? You have the choice of offering private 1 to 1 or small group tutoring. You have come to the right place, Find a Tutor gives you all that...